The Institutional Review Board (IRB) was established in 1999 to approve, monitor, and review biomedical and behavioral research conducted at YRG CARE to protect the rights and welfare of human participants taking part in research and evaluation assessments conducted at or sponsored by YRG CARE. This is done through a review of protocols, informed consent documents, case report forms, and other research/evaluation documents. Ethical considerations are also carefully evaluated. Regular meets are held once in a month or as necessary to address ongoing and upcoming studies.

Profiles of Members


Dr. C.N. Paramasivan, PhD in Medical Microbiology and DSc., is an elected Fellow of National Academy of Medical Science (FAMS) and served as Head of Microbiology Division at Tuberculosis Research Institute. He has made several important contributions to tuberculosis research. He is a pioneer in the introduction of TB diagnostic technologies in resource poor, high endemic countries. He currently serves as Senior Scientific Advisor at FIND India.


Dr. Saradha Suresh,is the Former Director & Superintendent, Institute of Child Health & Hospital for Children, with experience of more than 30 years in Pediatric (15 in Neonatal) research.

Mr. K Arumugam holds a Diploma in Mechanical Engineering, and is a senior executive in marketing at Arex Industries Ltd., . He has more than 19 years of business experience and 8 years teaching experience in an industrial training institute.

Mr. Benjamin Franklin, Senior Consultant (Training Management) has 38 years experience as Executive Director/ Executive Secretary of an NGO, responsible for administration, management and field based activities. Has supervised programs in different areas and has conducted training and orientation.

Dr. Jyotirmay Biswas is an ophthalmologist who has specialized in uveitis and ophthalmic pathology. He is a member of International Uveitis Study Group and executive council member of International. Currently he is the director of the Uveitis and Ophthalmic Pathology departments at Sankara Nethralaya, Chennai

Dr. R Ramakrishnan, was formerly with the National Institute of Epidemiology (Indian Council of Medical Research) as Scientist G. He has held areas pertaining to Epidemiology Surveillance and monitoring of communicable diseases. He has over 30 years experience in medical statistics, with over 10 years of it related to epidemiology. He headed the Departments of Biostatistics; e-learning and Bioethics at the National Institute of Epidemiology (NIE) and currently is a consultant there.

Dr. A Nalini, MD (Pathology), is a former Director of Education, Saveetha University., She has also served in various capacities as a pathologist at various government medical colleges in Tamil Nadu. She has completed the Erasmus Mundus Master of Bioethics Course

Dr. Kuganantham is former City Health Officer, Corporation of Chennai and has served as Zonal Health Officer, Director-Communicable Diseases Hospital, Chennai, State Program Officer, Integrated Counseling & Testing Center.

Dr. C B Tharani, is professor and head of the department of pharmacology at Saveetha University. She has taught undergraduates and postgraduate students for 36 years. She is an examiner in many universities and a PhD guide Tamil Nadu Dr MGR Medical University.

Dr. Malathy Duraisamy, PhD, is a Professor of Economics, IIT Madras. She is a Member, Senate, National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirapalli. She has published extensively in international & national journals.

Mr. M Aravind Subramaniam, has been an attorney-at-law for 26 years and has served as counsel for cases appearing before various High Courts including Bombay, Delhi, Bangalore, Nagpur, and Kolkata. A member in the Editorial Committee of the Tamil Nadu Law Journal (TNLJ) Notes, a leading Law Journal in Tamil Nadu.

Ms. Sheila Jayprakash, holds a master’s degree in Zoology with specialization in entomology, and a Law degree. She has practiced as an attorney for 35 years. She is an active member of committees working to amend or draft laws like PWDVA and Mental Health Act. She has presented the NGO Alternate Report before the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) committee in the UN in 2000 and 2007 on violence against women. She works with several NGOs all over India on enforcing rights of women and other vulnerable social groups.

Dr. K G Murugavel, Associate Professor of Microbiology, is a Laboratory Manager of the Infectious Diseases Laboratory, YRG CARE. He specializes in the study of various immunological factors that are responsible for the HIV preventive/resistance mechanism. He is also associated with IAVI Vaccine development related projects.

Dr. S Swarnalakshmi, Ph.D. is the IRB Manager and IRB Member Secretary, with YRG CARE, coordinating activities and meetings pertaining to IRB and the Community Advisory Board (CAB) of YRG CARE. She has been a faculty in national and international workshops and conferences on bioethics. She holds a Post Graduate Diploma in Bioethics from Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU).

Alternate Members

Dr. S Shantha, Dean, Tagore Medical College & Hospital,has served for 35 years in the Tamil Nadu Medical Service.

Dr. M Suresh Kumar, Consultant Psychiatrist, has provided drug/alcohol dependence treatment service for over 24 years and has contributed extensively to the establishment and implementation of opioid substitution therapy with sublingual bupernorphine in India.

Dr. Jayakar Paul, Emeritus Professor, Department of Medicine, Madras Medical College, was Professor-in-charge of the AIDS Ward at the Govt. General Hospital,Chennai, whilst he served as professor of medicine at Madras Medical College.

Dr. T Rajkumar, Professor and Head of the Department of Molecular Oncology, Cancer Institute, Chennai, is the first Medical Oncologist in India who also holds a Ph.D. in Basic Science (Molecular Oncology) and the first Clinical Oncologist to receive the D.Sc. degree in India.

Ms. Rochelle D’Souza Yepthomi, Psychologist is Alternate Member Secretary, YRG-IRB. She is the Manager-Psychosocial Programs, YRGCARE and coordinates Camp Rainbow – India Partnership Initiative to expand and develop camp programs for children living with serious illnesses. She also conducts training programs on HIV Management for clinicians, lab professionals and counselors.